Tuesday, June 17, 2025
HomeUncategorizedWorld Championship 2025: Referee calls for VAR-style review after contentious call in...

World Championship 2025: Referee calls for VAR-style review after contentious call in Mark Allen v Chris Wakelin clash at The Crucible


VAR has not crept its way into snooker, yet. But there was a rare occurrence at the World Championship when referee Tatiana Woollaston called for a replay to confirm her ruling.

Chris Wakelin had been left in a spot of bother by Mark Allen in their second-round match at The Crucible on Thursday.

A clever shot from Allen had Wakelin trapped behind the black and, with reds spread around the table, the best option was a slow roll up to a red on the baulk cushion.

Wakelin’s first attempt was not good, but it gave him the line for the escape.

His second effort was far better but, with Woollaston on the scene, the official called a foul.

It was extremely close, Wakelin thought so, as did Neal Foulds in the TNT Sports commentary box.

“Goodness, that’s close,” Foulds said. “Wow, can you believe that’s missed?”

After viewing a replay, Foulds felt contact had been made.

“It looked like it moved,” Foulds said. “I thought it moved on replay.”

Rather than dig in, which is in a referee’s gift, Woollaston asked to see a replay of the incident. 

“Tatiana is one of the better referees, and they are looking at the replay,” Foulds said. “Tatiana was on top of the shot.”

At full speed and slowed down, there was no conclusive evidence either way.

If it had been sent to Stockley Park for review, there would have been a high chance of it still being pored over 10 minutes later.

‘Nearest thing to Stephen Hendry’ – O’Sullivan says Xintong destined for greatness

Video credit: TNT Sports

Woollaston took the decision to stick by her initial ruling, and explained her reasoning.

“On this replay it looks like [it may have moved],” she said. “But when I was watching over it, I did not see it [move]. I will stay with my decision. I was right there and I did not see it move.”

The ruling was accepted, after which Foulds said: “The referee’s decision is final, and it was made in good faith.”

Wakelin went on to lose the fifth frame, but he finished the session on top and will return on Friday with a 6-2 advantage in the race to 13, with the match live on TNT Sports and discovery+.



Source link

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments